War Heritage Institute

8 May: Commemorate your Second World War hero! In the company of Selah Sue…

Participate in #wewillmeetagain, the War Heritage Institute’s campaign for the 75th anniversary of the end of the Second World War. Selah Sue joins in too.

Commemorate your hero through #wewillmeetagain. Climax on 8 May with Selah Sue.

Post a picture and the story of someone who experienced the Second World War and who is important to you on the War Heritage Institute’s Facebook page. A member of your family who served or was deported, a resistance hero from your city or a historical figure you want to remember. A national remembrance moment will be held on 8 May at 11:01 p.m. Place a picture of your hero in a cosy spot of your house or garden, or even on your balcony. Light a candle and take a moment to remember. Read a text, play some music. Put a picture or film of your remembrance moment on the War Heritage Institute’s Facebook page with hashtag #wewillmeetagain.

A campaign supported by well-known faces

Christophe Deborsu and Arnout Hauben launch the campaign and on 8 May singer Selah Sue will share her remembrance moment with us! Witness this touching event on the War Heritage Institute’s Facebook page. We count on your contribution!

National commemoration for the end of the Second World War on 8 May

For the past year the War Heritage Institute and its numerous partners invested in “75 Years of Liberation” and tried to highlight what it means to live in peace for 75 years. Large ceremonies were to be held all over the country on 8 May, but everything was of course cancelled because of the corona virus epidemic. The necessary restriction of our freedom in these trying times highlights the importance of freedom. And we also have to realize what it means to spend time with our loved ones, now we are temporarily separated… or have lost them for good. It therefore is very important to take a moment on 8 May and to reflect upon the end of the Second World War. The War Heritage Institute does so through a national remembrance moment and Dame Vera Lynn’s famous “We’ll meet Again”, a song symbolizing hope and comfort in the dark years of war. We will meet again and everything will be alright, “some sunny day”.

More information on www.belgiumremembers44-45.be

War Heritage Institute

8 mai : Commémorez votre héros de la Seconde Guerre mondiale ! Selah Sue en fait de même…

Soutenez « #wewillmeetagain », la campagne du War Heritage Institute à l’occasion du 75e anniversaire de la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Selah Sue participe également.

Commémorez votre héros au travers de #wewillmeetagain. Le clou de l’opération a lieu le 8 mai, en compagnie de Selah Sue.

Postez sur la page Facebook du War Heritage Institute sous le hashtag #wewillmeetagain la photo et l’histoire d’une personne ayant vécu la Seconde Guerre mondiale et qui vous est cher. Un membre de votre famille qui était sous les armes, qui fut déporté, un héros de la résistance de votre commune ou un personnage historique que vous tenez à commémorer. Un moment commémoratif national est prévu le 8 mai à 23h01. Mettez une photo de votre héros dans un bel endroit de votre maison, de votre jardin ou sur votre balcon. Allumez une bougie et prenez le temps de vous souvenir de la personne en question. Lisez un texte, jouez quelques notes de musique. Postez votre moment commémoratif sur la page Facebook du War Heritage Institute avec le hashtag #wewillmeetagain.

Une campagne soutenue par des visages connus

Christophe Deborsu et Arnout Hauben (« De Bevrijding van Vlaanderen ») lancent la campagne et le 8 mai, la chanteuse Selah Sue partagera son moment commémoratif avec nous à 23h01. Un moment émouvant qui pourra être suivi en direct sur la page Facebook du War Heritage Institute. Nous comptons sur votre participation!

Commémoration nationale pour la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale le 8 mai

Depuis un an, le War Heritage Institute et de nombreux partenaires se concentrent sur le 75e anniversaire de la libération et sur ce que cela signifie de vivre en toute liberté depuis 75 ans. Des grandes commémorations devaient avoir lieu partout en Belgique le 8 mai 2020. Elles ont bien entendu été annulées à cause du coronavirus. La restriction indispensable de quelques libertés en ces moments difficiles doit nous faire prendre conscience de l’importance de cette liberté. Et de l’importance de pouvoir voir nos proches, alors que nous en sommes séparés temporairement… ou pour de bon. Il est donc d’autant plus important de réfléchir à la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale le 8 mai. Le War Heritage Institute le fait au travers d’un moment commémoratif national en ligne et le « We’ll meet again » bien connu de Dame Vera Lynn, une chanson qui apporta un message d’espoir et de réconfort lors des sombres années de guerre… Nous nous reverrons et tout rentrera dans l’ordre, « some sunny day ».

Rendez-vous sur www.belgiumremembers44-45.be pour plus d’info.